All articles

Removing Custom Fields

Table 8. Availability

Free

Professional

Business

Enterprise


Overview

All users, except for collaborators, can remove custom fields from folders, projects, or spaces unless their access role restricts it.

If you no longer need to see some custom fields in a folder, project, or space, you can remove them from the view. Field data is preserved so if you later add the custom field back, data for associated tasks, folders, projects, and spaces is added back as well.

Note

Since custom fields can be used in different parts of the workspace by many users, permanently deleting one might cause unexpected data loss for some team members. That’s why in Wrike, there’s no way for users to manually delete custom fields from the workspace. Instead, you can remove the fields from the view of any location or repurpose them by editing custom field properties. If you still need to permanently delete some custom fields from your workspace, please contact Wrike’s Customer Support team.

Remove a field from a folder/project and its subfolders/subprojects

Use this option if the field was created from the current folder, project, or space or added to it via Table view or the custom field management panel.

Remove the field via Table view:

  1. Navigate to the folder, project, or space.

  2. Switch to Table view.

  3. Hover over the column for the custom field you want to remove.

  4. Click the arrow that appears to the right of the field name.

  5. Select Hide Column on the drop-down menu.

Remove the field via the custom field management panel:

  1. Navigate to the folder, project, or space.

  2. Open the custom field management panel.

  3. In the list, right-click on the custom field.

  4. Select Remove from this folder/project.

After you complete the steps,  the field will be hidden from the folder, project, or space and from all of its subfolders and subprojects.

Note

The field will also be removed from the parent folder, project, or space if it wasn’t specifically added there.

Remove a field from a folder/project but not from its subfolders/subprojects

Use this option if the custom field was added to the current folder, project, or space from its child items.

  1. Navigate to the folder, project, or space.

  2. Switch to Table view.

  3. Click the gear icon on the left side of the table.

  4. Uncheck the box next to the custom field you want to remove.

The column will be hidden from the current folder, project, or space. If the field was visible on descendent folders/projects, it will remain visible there.

Top