Fixed and flexible workflows are available on Business and Enterprise accounts.
Custom workflows can be either flexible or fixed. Fixed workflows dictate which status can be selected next (admins can override this), whereas flexible workflows only suggest designated statuses.
When changing a task’s status, users can only choose from certain predesignated statuses. Admins determine which status should have predetermined follow-up statuses and choose what the follow-up statuses are.
For example, if a task is In Progress, users will only be able to change the task to In Review or Completed. They won't see or be able to select any other status options.
Account admins can override restrictions for fixed workflows, but this applies only in Task view. In Enterprise accounts, the Change status and workflow regardless of workflow restrictions permission must be enabled for an admin within the Account Management section.
When changing a task’s status, users see specifically predesignated status options; all other statuses are accessible under the More menu option. Admins determine which status should have predetermined follow-up statuses and what the follow-up statuses are.
For example, if a task is In Progress, users see In Review or Completed as options and can also select other statuses under the More navigation menu.
When changing task statuses via drag and drop, you can only change tasks to the statuses suggested by the workflow in Board view. The statuses that would be visible under the More option are locked.