All articles

Changing User Access Roles in Spaces

Table 19. Availability

Free

Professional

Business

Enterprise


Overview

Space admins can change the access roles of space members.

You can change the access roles of all members of a space that you manage as admin. Access roles in spaces control whether or not users have the right to change and share tasks, folders, and projects within the space.

You can change the access roles of individual users or whole user groups in the space.

Note

All space admins have the Full access role by default. To change their role, you need to revoke their space admin right first.

Change space members' access roles

  1. Navigate to the relevant space.

  2. Click the gear icon in the upper-right corner.

  3. Select Settings.

  4. In the Members section, locate the user or the user group whose access role you want to change.

  5. Click the current access role to the right.

  6. Select the new access role from the list.

    • Full: The user has full user rights within a space, except for rights reserved for space admins. It includes sharing and changing all items within the space.

    • Editor: The user can't delete and share space content.

    • Limited: The user can only view items within the space, add comments, and change task statuses.

    Tip

    On Enterprise accounts, custom access roles are also available.

  7. Click Save.

The changes to the user or user group's access role are applied immediately. The access role in the space is inherited by all the items within the space, unless selective sharing is enabled for some of them.

Top