All articles

Sharing and Unsharing Folders

Table 57. Availability

Free

Professional

Business

Enterprise


Overview

All users except external and collaborators can share folders, but in Business and Enterprise accounts access roles may affect what a user can share.

To see a folder in Wrike, it must be shared with you. This means that the folders you see in your workspace may be different from those your teammates see in their workspaces.

How does sharing folders work?

Once you share a folder with users, they can:

  • Access, view, and edit its content.

  • Regular users with full access will be able to share the folder with others.

  • Sharing is inherited, so the sharing applies to all subfolders and projects contained in the folder.

Important

By default, sharing is inherited from the top down. When you share one folder from any folder, project, or space that isn't shared with the user (or a user group) they won't get access to the content of the whole location. However, when you share a folder or a project with the user (or a user group) they automatically get access to all tasks there (as well as to subfolders and subprojects).

Share a folder

  1. There are several ways to start sharing a folder in Wrike:

    • In the left-hand navigation panel of a space right-click the folder title and select Share.

    • In List view right-click the folder title and select Share.

    • When viewing the folder contents, click the sharing icon in the top right corner.

    • In the folder info panel click the sharing icon under the title.

  2. In the dialogue box start typing the name of the user or user group you want to share with and click their name.

  3. Users on Business and Enterprise accounts can select the access roles of users within a folder.

  4. Enterprise users have access to advanced sharing settings.

  5. Once you've added a user or users click Save.

Note

If you @mention a user in the comments of a folder, it's automatically shared with them. The button in the comments field changes from Send to Share and send when a comment will result in sharing a folder.

Unshare a folder

  1. Access the folders sharing menu in one of these ways:

    • In the left-hand navigation panel of a space right-click the folder title and select Share.

    • In List view right-click the folder title and select Share.

    • When viewing the folder contents click the sharing icon in the top right corner.

    • In the folder info panel click the sharing icon under the title.

  2. In the dialogue box you see the names of the users and groups the folder is shared with, use the x to the right of their name to revoke access.

  3. If you see a lock icon instead of an X, the task must stay shared with the corresponding person and can’t be unshared. Hover over the lock icon to see an explanation for why it can’t be unshared.

Note

Users on Business and Enterprise accounts can change the access roles of users within a folder. In Free and Professional accounts users get full access when you share a folder with them.

FAQ

What is selective sharing and can I use it in my folder?

Enterprise account owners can use advanced sharing settings to alter the way their folders are shared. This means they can turn off inherited sharing within a certain folder or project.

What's Next?

Top