All articles

Sharing and Unsharing Projects

Table 8. Availability

Free

Professional

Business

Enterprise


Overview

All users except external users and collaborators can share projects. However, in Business and Enterprise accounts access roles may affect what a user can share.

To see a project in Wrike, it must be shared with you. This means that the projects you see in your workspace may be different from those your teammates see in their workspaces.

How does sharing projects work?

Once you share a project with users they can:

  • Access, view, and edit its content or the folder attributes such as status and start/end dates.

  • Regular users with full access will be able to share the project with others.

  • Sharing is inherited, so the sharing applies to all subprojects and folders contained in the project.

Important

By default, sharing is inherited from the top down. When you share one project from any folder, project, or space that isn't shared with the user (or a user group) they won't get access to the content of the whole location. However, when you share a folder or a project with the user (or a user group) they automatically get access to all tasks there (as well as to subfolders and subprojects).

Share a project

  1. There are several ways to start sharing a project in Wrike:

    • In the left-hand navigation panel of a space right-click the project title and select Share.

    • In List view right-click the project title and select Share.

    • When viewing the project contents click the sharing icon in the top left corner.

    • When viewing the project info panel click the sharing icon to the right of the project status.

  2. In the dialogue box start typing the name of the user or user group you want to share with and click their name.

  3. Users on Business and Enterprise accounts can choose the access roles of users within a project.

  4. Enterprise users have access to advanced sharing settings.

  5. Once you've added a user or users click Save.

Note

If you @mention a user in the comments of a project, it's automatically shared with them. The button in the comments field changes from Send to Share and send when a comment will result in sharing a project.

Unshare a project

  1. Access the project's sharing menu in one of these ways:

    • In the left-hand navigation panel of a space right-click the project title and select Share.

    • In List view right-click the project title and select Share.

    • When viewing the project contents click the sharing icon in the top left corner.

    • When viewing the project info panel click the sharing icon to the right of the project status.

  2. In the dialogue box you can see the names of the users and groups the project is shared with. Click the x to the right of their name to revoke access.

  3. If you see a lock icon instead of an X, the task must stay shared with the corresponding person (it can’t be unshared). Hover over the lock icon to see an explanation for why it can’t be unshared.

Note

Users on Business and Enterprise accounts can change the access roles of users within a project. In Free and Professional accounts users get full access when you share a project with them.

FAQ

What is selective sharing and can I use it in my project?

Enterprise account owners can use advanced sharing settings to alter the way their projects are shared. This means they can turn off inherited sharing within a certain project or folder.

Top